Explained: Row Over BSF's Increased Powers In 3 Border States

Explained: Row Over BSF's Increased Powers In 3 Border States

Newsdesk |
October 14, 2021

Border Security Force (BSF) officers will now have the power to arrest, search, and of seizure to the extent of 50 km inside three new states sharing international boundaries with Pakistan and Bangladesh.

New Delhi, 14 October 2021

As per news report of NDTV, The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) claims that recent drone droppings of weapons from across the border have prompted this expansion in the jurisdiction of the BSF. However, this move is quickly snowballing into a debate on state autonomy. The Chief Minister of Punjab has already protested against it. "I strongly condemn the government's unilateral decision to give additional powers to BSF within 50 km belt running along the international borders, which is a direct attack on the federalism. I urge the Union Home Minister Amit Shah to immediately roll back this irrational decision," Charanjit Singh Channi tweeted. The MHA claims that this decision has been taken to curb illegal activities linked to national security in 10 states and two Union Territories, but it might also raise administrative and political issues.

Source - NDTV


If you like the story and if you wish more such stories, support our effort Make a donation.


If you believe investigative journalism is essential to making democracy functional and accountable support us. »