UP polls: BJP drops Speaker, fields ED officer

UP polls: BJP drops Speaker, fields ED officer

newsdesk |
February 2, 2022

The BJP has denied ticket to Speaker of the outgoing Assembly Hriday Narayan Dixit, minister Swati Singh and two sitting MLAs in the upcoming Assembly polls in UP.

New Delhi, 02 February 2022

As per news report of The Indian Express, instead, the party has fielded Rajrajeswar Singh, a day after the ED joint director announced that his application for voluntary retirement has been accepted. Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav’s daughter-in-law Aparna Yadav, who joined BJP a few weeks ago, is also not in the list of 17 candidates released by the party on Tuesday. She was reportedly in contention for a ticket from Lucknow Cantonment. Sources in the BJP said that Aparna will likely be “compensated” with a post in the organisation. BJP MP Rita Bahuguna Joshi, who was seeking ticket for his son from Lucknow Cantonment, also seems to have been snubbed. The party has instead fielded minister Brijesh Pathak from Lucknow Cantt and dropped its sitting MLA Suresh Chandra Tiwari.

Source - The Indian Express


If you like the story and if you wish more such stories, support our effort Make a donation.


If you believe investigative journalism is essential to making democracy functional and accountable support us. »